The Grierson Trust is delighted to confirm the 54th BFI London Film Festival shortlist and jury for the 2010 Grierson Award for Best Documentary. The BFI London Film Festival award ceremony will take place at Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke’s on 27 October.

A partnership between The Grierson Trust and the LFF, The Grierson Award for Best Documentary, recognises outstanding feature-length documentaries of integrity, originality, technical excellence or cultural significance. The Award is presented in commemoration of John Grierson. Kevin Macdonald will chair the jury, which also includes Mandy Chang and Christo Hird of The Grierson Trust, Charlotte Moore, Head of Documentary Commissioning at the BBC and Dick Fontaine of the NFTS.

This year’s shortlist is:

  • ARMADILLO Denmark Janus Metz
  • BENDA BILILI! France Renaud Barret, Florent de la Tullaye
  • CIRCO Mexico/USA Aaron Schock
  • MARIA AND I Spain Félix Fernández de Castro
  • THE PEDDLER Argentina Eduardo De La Serna, Lucas Marcheggiano, Adriana Yurcovich
  • PINK SARIS UK/India Kim Longinotto
  • WASTE LAND UK/Brazil Lucy Walker

Kevin Macdonald said: "The list of documentaries showing at this year’s LFF is mouth-wateringly good and I'm genuinely thrilled to chair The Grierson Award Jury. What could be more fun than getting to see all these great films for free and then getting to passionately argue about them with my fellow jurors?!"

A special hour-long programme, with exclusive coverage of the ceremony, will be broadcast on 7 November, 9pm on Sky Arts 2 HD – including all the nominees and winners, an insight into the juries' decisions, and a 75th anniversary tribute to the unique work of the BFI Archive.

For more information:
Fiona Williams
020 8746 7778

Published: 29-Sep-2010