• Home
  • News
  • George Duffield, joins The Grierson Trust Board

London, September 10th: The Grierson Trust welcomes George Duffield as its newest recruit to the Board of Trustees, led by Chairman, Dawn Airey.

Producer George Duffield, has been producing feature films under the banner of Arcane Pictures for 8 years. Feature credits include Summit's Dot the I starring Gael Garcia Bernal, which premiered at Sundance in 2003 and won the Deauville Audience Award and Milk. In addition he has executive produced Tonight at Noon, Black Box, and Live Free or Die. He has recently started producing documentaries including Olly and Suzi for BBC's Storyville and Rupert Murray's The End of The Line, which has received a worldwide theatrical release, and has been called "An Inconvenient Truth for the Oceans" by the Economist. On the back of the film’s success he has started a campaign to fund a global network of marine reserves. He is an international award winning wildlife photographer.

Dawn Airey said: "George is the perfect addition to The Grierson Trust Board – a passionate filmmaker with experience across drama and documentary making. His skills, ambition and wit will be embraced by the Trust."

George starts his three year tenure today (September 10) alongside Trustees Emma Hindley, Charlotte Moore, Terry Back, John Battsek, Emily Bell, Mandy Chang, Peter Dale, Ellen Fleming, Jill Franklin, Christopher Hird, Rick Senat, Peter Symes and Murray Weston.

The Grierson Trust exists to promote the best in documentary filmmaking. Established to commemorate the work of pioneering Scottish film maker John Grierson (1898–1972), the man widely regarded as the father of the documentary, the Trust both spearheads educational and mentoring initiatives for aspiring filmmakers through its educational programme, and celebrates the best documentary filmmaking from Britain and abroad through the annual British Documentary Awards.

The annual Grierson Awards recognise outstanding films that demonstrate integrity, originality and technical excellence, and social or cultural significance. The list of past winners – which includes Norma Percy, Molly Dineen, Olivia Lichtenstein, Nick Broomfield, Kim Longinotto, Paul Watson, Angus Macqueen and Pawel Pawlikowski - is testament to the high standard of work which is celebrated through these awards. They are the ultimate UK prizes for documentary film makers from across the globe.

The winners of the Griersons 2010 will be announced at the annual British Documentary Awards ceremony which will take place at the BFI Southbank, on the evening of Tuesday, 2 November 2010.

For more information:
Fiona Williams
020 8746 7778

Published: 10-Sep-2010